girl guides

by yayayanonono

When I was in grade four I decided that I wanted to be a girl guide. Girl guides had snazzy uniforms, learned valuable skills, and most importantly, all my friends were guides. I loved my uniform. I felt so smart in it. I suffered from delusions of grandeur when I wore it, I thought that grown ups looked at me as some patriotic child soldier, going off to fight for their suburban freedom. In short, I thought I looked like this :girl-guide-uniform-1.jpg

The problem was, I hated girl guides. I hated the goody two shoes-ness of it. I hated all the christian references, and I hated that it was more boring than school. We learned how to be good citizens, how to sleep in a tent in the backyard, how to bake a pineapple upside down cake in a tuna can and how to collect stickers. I received badges for all these things (except the good citizen one). I did learn to tie some knots in the church basement, but we never did anything that actually required the use of them. By the end of grade six I had a sash bereft of badges and was the only girl in my troop who did not receive her all round cord.

But man, did I love my uniform. It was so kicky and crisp. So it saddens me to watch the decline of the girl guide uniform. I can only hope that by making the girls wear t shirts and sloppy cargo pants, they are actually getting to do fun useful things, and that the cargo pockets are used for carrying things like pocket knives and snare wire.

guidegirls.jpg

